Select Page

TOGAF – The Open Group Architecture Framework | Enterprise Architecture

The TOGAF 9.2 Certified (Level 1 & Level 2) course is an interactive, classroom-based learning experience. The course covers the curriculi of both levels 1 and 2. The Foundation level content enables participants to successfully complete the associated TOGAF Level 1 exam, known as TOGAF 9.2 Foundation. The certification provides validation that the candidate has gained knowledge of the terminology, structure, and basic concepts of TOGAF 9.2, and understands the core principles of Enterprise Architecture and TOGAF. And finally, the TOGAF 9.2, Level 2 content focuses on the practical application of the TOGAF framework; building upon the foundational knowledge and comprehension of Level 1 with practical scenarios that enforce the concepts.

Audience Profile

  • Individuals who require a deeper understanding of TOGAF 9.2, e.g., System Integrators, Operational, Business and IT developers, CIO’s and IT Managers, Program and Project Leaders, IT Specialists, and Enterprise Architects.
  • Professionals who work in an organization where TOGAF 9.2 has been adopted and who need to participate in architecture projects and initiatives.
  • Enterprise Architects who will be responsible for developing architecture artifacts.
  •  Enterprise Architects who wish to introduce TOGAF 9.2 into an architectural practice.
  • Enterprise Architects who want to achieve a recognized qualification to demonstrate their detailed knowledge of TOGAF 9.2.

Course Objectives

Individuals certified at this level have a demonstrated understanding of:

  • The basic concepts of Enterprise Architecture and TOGAF
  • The core concepts and terminology used in TOGAF 9.2
  •  The concept of the Enterprise Continuum; its purpose and constituent parts
  • The TOGAF certification program
  •  The ADM guidelines and techniques
  • How each of the ADM phases contributes to the success of enterprise architecture
  • The ADM phases in development of an enterprise architecture (and how to apply them)
  • How Architecture Governance contributes to the Architecture Development Cycle
  • How to apply Architecture Governance in development of an enterprise architecture
  • How to apply the TOGAF Architecture Content Framework
  •  The concept of Building Blocks (and how to apply them)
  • How to apply the Stakeholder Management Technique
  •  How to apply the TOGAF Content Metamodel
  • How to apply TOGAF recommended techniques when developing an enterprise architecture
  • The TOGAF Technical Reference Model and how to customize it to meet an organization’s needs
  • The Integrated Information Infrastructure Reference Model
  •  The content of the key deliverables of the ADM cycle
  •  How an enterprise architecture can be partitioned to meet the specific needs of an organization
  • The purpose of the Architecture Repository
  • How to apply iteration and different levels of architecture with the ADM
  • How to adapt the ADM for security
  • SOA as a style of architecture
  • The role of architecture maturity models in developing an enterprise architecture
  • The purpose of the Architecture Skills Framework and how to apply it within an organization


There are no formal prerequisites. However, it is strongly recommended that participants have some experience in the Enterprise Architecture domain.

Course Material

Participants receive a copy of the classroom presentation material and the Participant Handbook, which contains reference materials.

About the Examination

There are two possibilities for taking the exam. The candidate can take the Level 1 and Level 2 exams separately, or take the combined exam. The exam is a proctored exam—a proctor needs to be registered prior to taking the exam. Alternatively, exam vouchers can be provided for use at a testing center.

Level 1 Exam (details):

  • The exam is closed-book format, and includes 40 multiple-choice questions. The pass score is 55% (22 out of 40 questions). The exam lasts for 60 minutes and can be taken onsite (online) or through Prometric test centers.

Level 2 Exam (details):

  • The exam is open-book format, and includes 8 complex multiple-choice, scenario-based questions. The pass score is 60% (5 out of 8 questions). The exam lasts for 90 minutes and can be taken onsite (online) or through Prometric test centers.

Level 1 and 2 Combination Exam (details):

  •  This examination consists of two separate sections. The TOGAF 9.2 Part 1 is CLOSED Book. The TOGAF 9.2 Part 2, Section 2 is OPEN book. (Note at Prometric test centers an electronic copy of the specification is built into the test and becomes available in Part 2 only).
  • Time limit: 150 Minutes total. Each section has a maximum time limit as follows: 60 Minutes on TOGAF 9.2 Part 1 and 90 Minutes on TOGAF 9.2 Part 2. Once you complete the TOGAF 9.2, Part 1 section, you cannot return to it.

Course Outline

  • Management Overview
  • TOGAF® standard Version 9.2 Introduction
  • The TOGAF® standard Version 9.2 Components
  • Architecture Capability Framework Overview
  • Architecture Skills Framework
  • An Introduction to the Architecture Development Method
  • An Introduction to the ADM Guidelines and Techniques
  • Architecture Content Framework
  • Enterprise Continuum and Tools
  • Adapting the ADM: Iterations and Levels
  • Phase P : Preliminary Phase
    • Architecture Maturity Model
    • Architecture Partitioning
    • Other EA Frameworks
    • EA Tools Landscape
    • Request for Architecture Work
    • Adapting the ADM: Security
  • Phase A : Architecture Vision
    • Stakeholder Management
    • Business Scenarios
    • Architecture Implementation Support Techniques
    • Business Transformation Readiness Assessment
    • Capability based Planning
    • Risk Management
    • Building Blocks and Interoperability
    • Statement of Architecture Work
  • Phase B Business Architecture
  • Phase B Business Architecture Artifacts
  • Phase-C-Overview
  • Phase C Data Architecture
  • Phase C Data Architecture Artifacts
  • Integrated Information Infrastructure Reference Model
  • Phase C Application Architecture
  • Phase C Application Architecture Artifacts
  • Foundation Architecture: Technical Reference Model
  • Phase D Technology Architecture
  • Phase D Technology Architecture Artifacts
  • Phase E Opportunities and Solutions
  • Migration Planning Techniques
    • Implementation Factor Assessment and Deduction matrix
    • Consolidated Gaps, Solutions and Dependencies matrix
    • Architecture Definition Increments table
    • Transition Architecture state evolution table
    • Business Value Assessment
  • Phase F Migration Planning
  • Phase-G-Implementation-Governance
  • Phase-H-Architecture-Change-Management
  • Architecture-Requirements-Management

Suresh Done

Founder / Chief Architect at SNA Technologies

Suresh Done is the Founder, CEO and Chief Architect of SNA Technologies, headquartered in Michigan, USA. He founded SNA Technologies Pvt. Ltd. In 2013 based in Hyderabad, Telangana, India. SNA Technologies has offices in Singapore, UAE and many
other countries.

Suresh Done is also the Founder of AEA (Association of Enterprise Architects) Michigan Chapter and Chairman since its inception. He led the chapter to a great success with his vision and leadership skills. AEA Michigan chapter very soon became the largest chapter of all the AEA chapters.

TOGAF - The Open Group Architecture Framework

15 + 10 =

Study abroad in Canada!

Unlock endless possibilities by studying in Canada! 🍁📚 Experience top-tier education, diverse culture, and stunning landscapes. Your future starts here!

📞 074 165 6726 | 077 344 9438

Learn More

This will close in 0 seconds